Focus on: Balloon Games

This game is a variation on the Group Juggle game.

I have the students stand in a circle and I asked to plant one foot that couldn’t move, so they had to pivot on that foot. I then threw one balloon into the circle and instructed them that they had to keep the balloon from touching the ground. Fairly easy. I then, however, proceeded to toss in 4 or 5 more balloons. I have done this activity many times before and the students really enjoy it — even if they are tentative or reticent at first.

I used this game to continue our community building in our class and I also used it ‘honour’ the students’ learning profiles which indicated that there is a strong Kinesthetic learning style in this group of students.

*Note: I did have a few students choose to sit out and just watch the activity from the sidelines. In the mandatory reflection, I learned that one student said she thought she didn’t want to participate but after watching it she thinks she would like to participate next time.

Balloon Games at Wilderdom Games

Leave a Reply

