Being Mean in Clock Partners

When my student teacher (teacher candidate) and I introduced the Learning Clocks to my grade 9 / 10 split class of 9 students today, I figured it would be tricky due to the small size of the class. I imagined that one student would be left without a partner so we’d have to improvise and then add that person to make a group of three people.

What I didn’t expect — and should have — was, essentially, some grade-school behaviour: as the available partners dwindled, one girl was trying to find a partner for one of her empty spots and attempted to ask a male classmate if he would be her partner, and, in a not very quiet voice, he said, “I don’t want to be her partner.” And her hurt feeling were apparent on her face.

What I should have had my student teacher do is what I do for virtually all ofther activities I do in class involving cooperative learning or community building: I ‘front-load’ the activity with either just a verbal reminder about including people to make them feel safe and welcome, or I could have created a slightly more formal mini-lesson on effective or appropriate group work as a discussion or even using “Looks Like / Sounds Like” where specific positive behaviours are brainstormed and written down.

Clock Partners / Learning Clocks can be a really effective way for students to hear multiple viewpoints on a topic, for all forms of assessment and for community building, etc. but it runs more smoothly when I take the time to follow Barrie Bennett’s advice about pre-emptively planning ahead for potential classroom management or social issues

Leave a Reply

