When Traditional Policy Goes Bad: Teen Social Use of Mobile Devices in High Schools

  Digital Media and Learning Research Hub

By ANTERO GARCIA January 3, 2012 – 10:39am


Teen Social Use of Mobile Devices in High Schools Blog Image

“… if you think about what kinds of things students are doing on their phones while sitting in my classroom and pretending to read a book or search for something in their backpack. Students spend much of their mobile media use in classes to socialize with each other, update each other on the latest chisme, and discuss meeting places and upcoming activities. With all of this organizing, planning and chatting in place, teens don’t intend to waste…”

 

 

 

One response to “When Traditional Policy Goes Bad: Teen Social Use of Mobile Devices in High Schools

  1. As a new teacher (my second day) of high school students and parent of two boys (11 and 13) who have phones with texting, I find your observations interesting. One of the things I discussed with my students was using phones and iPods in my classroom. Generally, I want my students paying attention to me while I am instructing them and during group discussions. While they are working on a computer program for fluency and comprehension, I want their full attention on that activity. But, while they are working independently, I do not have a problem with limited texting. I work with students who have reading/writing difficulties and I hope that by allowing limited phone usage I will be able to enforce the specific times they are NOT to use their phones. More specifically I have structured my classes with ample time for students to complete assignments in class (basically no homework) in the anticipation that students would rather not have homework, so they will do classwork during class rather than text their peers. They also will be involved in small group discussions and projects encouraging their interaction with their classmates rather than interactions with their phones. It will be interesting to see how this works.

Leave a Reply

