Simon Sinek: How great leaders inspire action

Despite this being directed at business types, I really enjoyed Mr. Sinek’s TED Talk. Indeed, I believe this gentleman has been latched onto by many people  — often people at the top of the food chain –, but thinking about his idea from an in-the-trenches teaching perspective, I think there is some merit in the notion that I, as a teacher in the 21st century, need to be able to tell students why coming to my class fits into their 21st century lives. “Why are doing this?” is actually, perhaps, a very profound question and my pat answer of “Because I said so” doesn’t actually suffice.  In fact, I need to preemptively tell them before we learn why we are doing something in class and, to take it a step further, I should examine what it is I’m teaching to see if it is relevant and appropriately challenging for today’s students.  The Golden Circle thing is a pretty nifty idea that I need to mull over… Also, his mantra, “People don’t buy what you do; they buy why you do it.”  Hmmm… Perhaps “Students don’t buy into courses because of what we are teaching necessarily; they buy in because of why they need to know this for their 21st century journey.” I’m not sure if that works, but maybe… Plus: People followed Martin Luther King not to follow him, but they did it for themselves, because their beliefs matched his own. And he didn’t make the ‘I Have a Plan’ speech; he made the ‘I Have a Dream’ speech. Woah.

 

Leave a Reply

